Sonic Boom at County Finals Day

Sydenham Sonics turned on the style at the Kent County Mini Super 8s Finals Day at Beckenham in September, securing 3rd place overall.

Undefeated in the group stages, the Sonics had a tough quarter final assignment against 2018 champions Plaxtol Pirates. An immaculate bowling display saw them through to the Semi Finals where they were edged out by an organised Bickley Park side. Consolation came with a 3rd/4th place victory over Bromley CC, Kilmorie's Nathan and Rathfern's Thirusuthan the stars with the ball once again.   


Hawks Swoop for 2019 Title

After dominating all 4 days of the event, with one tie and one defeat their only dropped points, Hither Green Hawks emerged as the inaugural Platform Mini Super 8s champions. 

The Sydenham Sonics and Brockley Bears slugged it out for 2nd place, but results from the very last game of the day meant the Sonics clung on by a fraction and progressed to the Kent County Finals with the Hither Green Hawks and a range of eminent cricket clubs from across the county. 


Players of the Tournament

The following players received MVP (most Valuable Player) Awards over the course of the tournament:

  • Bellingham Bats: Dontae Hussain (Rangefield), Liam White (Marvels Lane)
  • Blackheath Honeybadgers: James Dennison (All Saints)
  • Brockley Bears: Hayden Lundie (Beecroft Garden), Jacob Keeble (Beecroft Garden)
  • Deptford Dragons: Tyler Kavannagh (Kender)
  • Hither Green Hawks: Colin Pinto (St Winifred's), Laurence Crean (St Winifred's), Malachi Grant (Trinity), Sam Edwards (Trinity), Noah Ahktar (Brindishe Green), Raphael Parker (St Winifred's), Raymond McNulty (St Winifred's), Stan Element (Brindishe Green), Tremaine Thompson (Brindishe Green)
  • Kidbrooke Kings: Destiny Adenuga (Kidbrooke Park), Jack Addley (Haimo), Jedida Djonga (Haimo), Jesse Edusei (St Thomas More), Ope Oyewole (Wingfield)
  • Sydenham Sonics: Darion Dixon (Haseltine), David Perta (Rathfern), Farid Salawu (Kilmorie), Gloria Saraiva (St George's), Marc Marie (St Michael's), Mysha Rahman (Kilmorie), Tristan Gray (Haseltine)
  • Thamesmead Tigers: Hamad Alayaba (Bishop John Robinson), Yahya Kasoma (Heronsgate)